Athletics

Athletic Director- Sadie Mirick smirick@yorkschools.org



Event Supervisor- Josh Mirick jmirick@yorkschools.org


Update! We are opening lacrosse up to 6th grade students.

Boys in 6th grade are invited to try out for the 7th grade team.

Email Mike Luttrell for more information mluttrell@yorkschools.org


Please contact Britni Rowe browe@yorkschools.org for more information about the girls program.



Spring Sports

Lacrosse

Boys and Girls Lacrosse is open to students in 7th and 8th grade. The season starts April 4th and runs through the end of May. Practices are held at the York Middle School Athletic fields, directly after school, 5 days per week. Boys and girls participating in lacrosse will need to purchase protective gear including mouth guards, goggles, sticks, and gender specific padding. Once you sign up, coaches will be in contact to let you know what is required. The coaches for the 2022 spring season are Britney Rowe (girls team) browe@yorkschools.org and Mark Ring (8th boys team) mring@yorkschools.org, and Mike Luttrell mluttrell@yorkschools.org.


Baseball and Softball

Baseball and softball is open to boys and girls in 7th and 8th grade. The season starts April 1st and runs through the end of May. Practices are held at the Village Elementary athletic fields, directly after school, 5 days per week. Student change at YMS then walk over to Village together. Participants will need to purchase protective gear including mouth guards and gender specific padding and equipment. Once you sign up, coaches will be in contact to let you know what is required. The coaches for the 2022 spring season are Marquis MacGlashing (girls team) mmacglashing@yorschools.org and Ed Gullison (boys team) egullison@yorkschools.org .


Track and Field

Track and Field is open to boys and girls in 6th, 7th, and 8th Grade. Track events include distance running, short distance sprints, jumping and throwing events. Practice is held daily after school at YMS or the York High School track facility. Students will be able to catch a bus over to the high school on track days. No special equipment is required for this sport. Your coaches this season are Kelly Ridley kridley@yorkschools.org and David Goodsell dgoodsell@yorkschools.org



Volleyball

Volleyball is open to girls in 7th and 8th grade. This is a introductory program designed to teach the fundamentals of the game. All students who sign up can participate. There are no cuts for this program. Practices are daily after school with 5 or 6 matches scheduled throughout the season. Students will need to purchase knee pads for this program and have the options of purchasing a York Volleyball T-shirt for game play.

Wrestling

Wrestling is open to boys and girls in 6th, 7th, and 8th grade. This is a introductory program, designed to teach the fundamentals of the sport. There are no cuts made in this program.